KDE MM + Edu Sprint 2010 in XRandr

And what a sprint that was!

To only mention some of the highlights:

Now for the exhausting details…😉

On Wednesday 19 May I left for one of the most awesome trips ever. Destination was Randa, somewhere in the .ch alps (Marble can show you). After a night without sleep in a very crowded and stuffy train compartment with 5 rather sleepy Hungarian dudes  I arrived in Zurich (which also happens to be somewhere in .ch I have been told) where I met emonkey (from the german Kubuntu team) and had loads of coffee, until I finally departed to Randa itself. Now let me tell you one thing: if you want to see .ch properly, go through it by train. On a day with good weather it is pure awesome.

At some point I actually arrived in Randa and guess what … no Internet!!! OMG!!! … so while we were waiting for supper we did a bit of socalizing outside – community bonding one might say. The rest of the evening I spent worring about how we did not have a schedule and how some people failed to come up with one. The next morning we still didnt have one, so I came up with one which promptly got overpopulated with sessions. Having that tight a schedule I was sort of running around taking part in the most interesting sessions😉

I have learned about QML, Pulse, distribution problems, Marble’s awesomeness and a lot more…

As a Kubuntu dev  I fortunately  think that I was able to get rid of some myths about Kubuntu and Canonical and Ubuntu. Also we took a look at a proposal from Canonical regarding a central point of management for audio related activites (including volume and music player controls). Resulting from our discussion we already started discussion on how to implement this in a KDE software context.

Additionally Frederik and I started working on a new Linux distribution, called Fluffy. I highly recommend that you like it on Facebook until Ian comes up with a MySpace page for us. Clearly we are going pink and fluffy with it (hence the name). It originated from our desire for a working fluffy bunny Plasma theme, and the fact that I created a Parley theme out of the fluffy sources I had lying around. Fluffy is in a pretty awesome state already and if I knew what distribution to use as a base we would already have released an alpha, therefore I would very much appreciate input on what distribution to use🙂

It was one awesome sprint, with awesome people, loads of discussion, loads of fun and apachelogger. Can’t wait to see everyone again!

7 thoughts on “KDE MM + Edu Sprint 2010 in XRandr

  1. Someone recently told me that Fedora was pretty awesome. I think his name was Frederik or something like that.

  2. Awe, gee wiz, what is this farcebook thing you speak of? I cannot locate it on aol anywhere, I can’t find Fluffy there, either😦

  3. You should use kubuntu as base, since I guess people who would like a fluffy desktop don’t want to bother with drivers, codecs and such… good example is my girlfriend😉

  4. Go with openSUSE and use the susestudio.com to build your distribution entirely in your webbrowser, fast, easy, cool – and you can even testdrive it before you let it assemble an USB/CD image and download it… Packages can be used from anywhere including the suse build service (think ppa on stereoids, supporting all distro’s instead of only 1).

  5. I would also have to suggest openSUSE, if only for the buildservice. The plasma team seemed to think highly enough of it openSUSE and the buildservice to use it for the Plasma Netbook Reference, you might want to ask them for their reasons.

Leave a Reply

